Dorm Plants

unc_mltFebruary 28, 2010

Hey!

I'm a student in college, and I currently live in a dorm. I recently bought a snake plant because it brought a little life and air filtration to my room. I've been researching for more plants, but I was wondering if there were any flowering plants that were capable to thrive in a dorm setting and relatively durable. Also, recommendations for plants that are good at air filtration would be great too.

Thanks!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
rootdiggernc(Z-7A NC)

My fav low light plant is a peace lily. It's very easy to care for and mine blooms indoors. Also look for different types of snake plants (sansevieria) there are so many varieties. Not just color/variegation, but while most of us are use to the ones that grow very straight and tall there are short wide ones and some that drape, etc... Heart-leaf philodendron is another super easy plant, can even be grown in water. Doesn't bloom, but you could grow it in a really pretty (or odd) container, even change the containers to fit the seasons/occasion. Do you have a windowsill? My son grew an aloe plant on his and it did fine, just keep water to a minimum. Angel-wing begonias can add lots of color and some blooming if you have a little light. You can always add a lot of variety with variegation, textures and colors, both with the plant or containers. Have fun!

Here is a link that might be useful: low light bloomers

Bookmark   February 28, 2010 at 11:30AM
dottie_in_charlotte(z7-8 NC)

Nice thing about snake plants is they are quite vertical and take up very little space in a dorm room where storage space is at a premium, especially when you have a roommate.
Plus, you can go home for vacations and the snakeplant will never even notice you're gone.

Bookmark   February 28, 2010 at 1:30PM
unc_mlt

Thanks! I'm really considering a peace lily, especially since I heard it's pretty great at removing air pollutants.