Holes in leaves and No flowers

NanSingle(9A-near Tampa, FL)September 10, 2011

Hi everyone, I'm new to Brugmansia and new to this forum. I planted 4 of these plants this year... 2 in the ground, and 2 in big plastic pots on the patio. All in the sun, with some relief in late afternoon. All are growing well, but I've had alot of problems lately with my leaves looking like swiss cheese. What causes this and how do I get rid of it? (I've seen a few green spiders on the leaves, but left them alone hoping they're eating the bad bugs). Also, my plants have not flowered. Not so much as one lousy bud. Lots of leaflets coming out along main stem, but they don't seem to be doing much. Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
tommysmommy(Colorado)

Well I'm having a lousy bloom summer too, so no advice there. The holes in the leaves, could be what's making holes in mine too. Little butterflies laying eggs which turn into little worms which eat the leaves to turn into little butterflies that lay eggs, and so on.

Bookmark   September 11, 2011 at 7:09PM
chena(z8 Texas)

Welcome !!!!!
Have the Brugs you have made a Y at the top yet...As for the holes could be worms as Dianne mentioned or slugs??? Do you have any pic's??

Kylie

Bookmark   September 14, 2011 at 12:54PM
NanSingle(9A-near Tampa, FL)

Thanks for responding!! I think the leaf holes are from little black catapillers/worms (not sure what the difference is! LOL). Caught one munching on a leaf so squished him and fed him to my goldfish in the pond. They, unlike me, loved it!

And, no, no "Y" yet. Thought this would've happened much sooner. I live in central Florida, so growing season is longer, but I hope it's long enough to let me see a flower or two before everything either goes dormant or dies. Do these plants normally die back to the ground over winter?

Bookmark   September 14, 2011 at 1:10PM
chena(z8 Texas)