Clematis Sources Update

garystpaul(4)January 6, 2010

Hi, folks. I'm starting to scout out sources for this year's wishlist and wondered if any of you know of good new places to look. These are my regulars:

 Brushwood

 Silver Star Vinery

 Garden Crossings

 Seneca Hill

 Joy Creek

 Forest Farm

 Donahues

Appreciate any feedback here. Gary

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
nckvilledudes(7a NC)

Gary, check the following link below out. We had a thread on various sources last year I believe. Some of the vendors might not still be in business but the list is quite extensive.

Here is a link that might be useful: Clematis Sources

    Bookmark   January 6, 2010 at 9:10AM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
janetpetiole(4b)

Hey Dude. I hope your life is settling down a bit so you can enjoy the finer thing;)

Thanks for bringing up the link. If I have time, (which I doubt because my aging parents have most of it) I'll check each link. If someone would like to do that before I can, it would be great for all of us. :)

    Bookmark   January 6, 2010 at 10:21PM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
garystpaul(4)

Thanks, ncville and Janet, very useful. I'd have replied sooner, but the "notify of responses" didn't/doesn't seem to be working. Those lists, from Oct-Nov 2008 are a great resource. Something like that might be worth reprinting now that we're coming into the season. (I didn't feel at liberty to post someone else's list). Gary

    Bookmark   January 16, 2010 at 10:53AM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
schifferle(5b NE Kansas)

I've purchased from Brushwood, Silver Star Vinery and Chalk Hill (who unfortunately doesn't sell clematis anymore). I have been pleased with all. Great clematis. Very nice and helpful. Just yesterday, I put in another order to Silver Star Vinery.

    Bookmark   January 16, 2010 at 11:27AM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
kitkat_oregon(7)

Oh boy, here we go flying off the Clematis cliff again this year into the wild 'blue' yonder. I have to put in my vote for Brushwood, Dan has got to be the best customer service guy around. Really knows his plants!!. Love Silver Star and Joy Creek cant be beat for selection. I live on the West Coast so I keep to this side of the continent due to shipping concerns. Best of Luck. Kat

    Bookmark   January 18, 2010 at 10:31PM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
kentstar(5b, NE Ohio)

I found it interesting that Brushwood won't sell Sweet Autumn Clematis anymore. I guess it's way too invasive there.
I have one, just planted last season, so we'll see how it goes, but I have a rather large and long hedgeline for it to climb to it's hearts content.

    Bookmark   January 19, 2010 at 4:50PM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
nckvilledudes(7a NC)

It sure is invasive here in NC. With Dan's move to Georgia in progress, I am sure it will be much more invasive in Georgia than it was in Pennsylvania.

    Bookmark   January 19, 2010 at 7:09PM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
kitkat_oregon(7)

Miguel, I may have asked you this before but I have a c. terniflora on a fence (planted last year, spring) along with a c. texensis gravetye beauty. Is the terniflora going to beat up on the texensis and win the battle? If so I am going to move the texensis. Thanks for the input. When is Dan going to be selling from Georgia? Kat

    Bookmark   January 19, 2010 at 7:48PM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
nckvilledudes(7a NC)

Depends on how close the terniflora is to the Gravetye Beauty. Terniflora is a monster clematis and will consume most other clematis.

I think that either I received a general email from Dan or saw it on his website. I believe that things will be shipped from PA this spring but that in the fall, all shipments will come from GA. Don't hold me in cement on that but it was something along those lines.

    Bookmark   January 19, 2010 at 9:06PM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
kitkat_oregon(7)

They are close, too close to risk losing the Beauty. I'll move her, next opportunity. Thanks.

    Bookmark   January 20, 2010 at 12:30AM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
dannypa(6b)

Brushwood is moving this summer. Lots of updates on Facebook.

    Bookmark   March 9, 2010 at 8:33PM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
senko(6b ePA)

Here is the list from nckvilledudes' link. Please update any new info about the nurseries on the list. Also, please give your opinion if you had any experience with any one of them.

Arrowhead Alpine - http://arrowheadalpines.com
Beardsley Gardens (redesigning website)
Big Dipper Farm - http://www.bigdipperfarm.com/cgi-bin/searchall.pl
Bluestone Perennials - http://www.bluestoneperennials.com/b/bp/index.html
Brushwood Nursery - http://www.brushwoodnursery.com/
Busse Gardens - http://www.bussegardens.com/
Carroll Gardens - http://www.carrollgardens.com/
Completely Clematis - http://www.clematisnursery.com/
Digging Dog Nursery - http://www.diggingdog.com/
DonahueÂs Clematis Specialists - http://www.donahuesclematis.com/
Fairweather Gardens - http://www.fairweathergardens.com/
Fieldstone Gardens - http://www.fieldstonegardens.com/
Forestfarm - http://www.forestfarm.com/
Garden Crossings - http://www.gardencrossings.com/
Greer Gardens - http://www.greergardens.com/plants.htm
Gurneys Seed & Nursery Co. - (link too long)
Homestead Farms - http://www.homesteadfarms.com/
Jackson & Perkins - (link too long)
Joy Creek - http://www.joycreek.com/
Klehm's Song Sparrow - http://www.songsparrow.com/
Koi Gardens - http://koigardenclub.com/Clematis.htm
Lazy S'S Farm Nursery - http://www.lazyssfarm.com/Plants/Vines/vines.htm
Nature Hills Nursery, Inc. - http://www.naturehills.com/
Paradise Garden - http://www.paradisegarden.com/shop/home_clematis.php
Park Seed  (link too long)
Plant Delights Nursery - http://www.plantdelights.com/
Rare Find Nursery - http://www.rarefindnursery.com/
Seneca Hill Perennials - http://www.senecahillperennials.com/
Sheffield's Seed Company. - http://www.sheffields.com/products/view/300440
Silver Star Vinery Clematis - http://www.silverstarvinery.com/
Siskiyou Rare Plant Nursery - http://www.siskiyourareplantnursery.com/
Spring Hill Nurseries Co. - link too long
Spring Valley Greenhouse - http://www.springvalleygreenhouse.com/
Sunlight Gardens - http://www.sunlightgardens.com/giftcertificates.html
Thompson & Morgan - http://www.thompson-morgan.com/
Van Bourgondien Bros. - http://www.dutchbulbs.com/
Wayside Gardens  (link too long)
White Flower Farm  (link too long)
Woodlanders - http://www.woodlanders.net/

    Bookmark   March 10, 2010 at 11:34AM
Sign Up to comment
More Discussions
Need advice for rehabing clematis
I had a Duchess of Edinburgh (Type 2) growing on both...
subk3
Clematis Question?
I am just giving my clematis (Guernsey Cream) a very...
gardenbug
transplanting ?
My friend is getting rid of (throwing away) a clem...
sorie6
Moms Clematis
Hey everyone! I normally post on the allium forum and...
landscraper82
Hello, I'm looking for clematis seeds
Hello, i'm new on here so finding my way around. I...
ianrtaylor
People viewed this after searching for:
© 2015 Houzz Inc. Houzz® The new way to design your home™