My Lemon & Satsuma seedlings are growing great -what next? Newbie

houseostyleFebruary 1, 2011

I am new to growing - I just started growing Lemon & satsuma trees with a germination station & heat mat I received for Christmas. I have 72 seedlings and I'm not sure about the next transplant step.. What pots do I need to purchase? I really want a carry tray with pots but I don't know what to buy or where to buy it. I saw some skinny but deep tall tree pots but the cheapest I could find online was .55 each + shipping for a minimum of 90.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
mksmth zone 6b Tulsa Oklahoma(6b)

Nice mini orchard you have there! I would go ahead and move some of the bigger ones to 3 or 4 inch pots. Just be sure the roots have filled most of the soil they are in now so you dont risk damage when you pull them out.

what are your plans for all those little guys.

Mike

Bookmark   February 3, 2011 at 11:53AM
houseostyle

Okay Thanks I wasn't sure when to transplant them. Some have two sprouts from the seed. What do I do in this case? Do I cut off or try to seperate one?
My plans are to grow them until they are big enough to give to family & friends & trade or sell the rest. I really didn't think I would have this successful germination rate. I was expecting maybe 10 seeds would grow boy am I surprised.

Bookmark   February 5, 2011 at 12:26PM
don_in_ct

Hello Houseostyle,

If you live in Louisiana, you are in a citrus growing state, so you need to be very careful about where they end up going. Selling them in your area is probably not legal. See the web link for more details. Citrus greening disease has resulted in quarantines as this announcement shows:

USDA ANNOUNCES QUARANTINE TO PREVENT SPREAD OF CITRUS DISEASE
WASHINGTON, June 17, 2010 - The U.S. Department of Agriculture�s Animal and Plant
Health Inspection Service (APHIS) is issuing an interim rule announcing a plant quarantine in