Blood orange

msharifi(9)March 5, 2012

I bought a blood orange tree from Armstrongs and I wanted to ask if it's normal to have light green leaves. I know they have lifetime guarantee.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
mksmth zone 6b Tulsa Oklahoma(6b)

well normal, yes and no. Older leaves will natural turn yellow and fall off. Newer/younger ones usually is a sign of some type of nutrient problem. Im not good at diagnosing that so hold tight, ill get someone.

Mike

Bookmark   March 6, 2012 at 8:52AM
hoosierquilt USDA 10A Sunset 23 Vista CA

This is probably a little Nitrogen deficiency. Not uncommon for a tree that is sitting at a nursery for a bit, coming from the grower. No, not normal for a blood orange to have ALL light green leaves, but perfectly normal for all citrus to have new leaves that are lighter green. And, as Mike has also mentioned, older leaves will turn yellow and drop off. Again, perfectly normal. Not sure how long you've had this little tree in the ground, but follow the advice I gave you with your other trees, and you'll be just fine :-)

Patty S.

Bookmark   March 6, 2012 at 9:53AM
msharifi(9)

Thank you Mike and Patty New leaves are green but the most of mature leaves are light green.

I got the tree a 2 weeks ago only one left but since my wife likes Blood orange I picked the only one and the leaves were that color so I know it wasn't me installing it wrong or over watering it. I will get follow the advice above :)

I love all type of citrus just to let you guys know what I have :)

Kumquat
oro blanco grapefruit
Valencia Orange
Navel Orange
Sour Orange
meyers improved lemon
Lime - Bearss
Owri Satsuma
Blood orange
and a unknown citrus tree that has never fruited

I love all my trees and I dont want them to get sick etc. :)

Bookmark   March 6, 2012 at 10:15AM