Pinch blossoms from baby Meyer's lemon?

milehighgirl(CO USDA 5B/Sunset 2B)April 7, 2009

I just bought an Improved Meyer's lemon tree. It's only about 18 inches tall and now has one open blossom and at least 8 more buds. I hate to ask, but would it be best for the tree to pinch off the blossoms to allow the tree to put it's efforts toward growth?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
puglvr1(9b central FL)

I'm not an expert, but if it were mine, I would let it bloom and enjoy the frangrant scents.Wait and see if the blooms sets fruit, sometimes they won't hold the fruit when the tree is young and immature. If they do set, you can remove most of them and leave maybe a couple, but its up to you. When I first bought mine four years ago, I let all the flowers blooms, then by the second year, I let three of the lemons get full size. I think the Meyer is known for being heavy bloomers/fruit setters. Of course you can't tell by mine, lol. I haven't been able to get any of the blooms to set this year, I would get a real heavy bloom, then all the baby lemons would fall off. At least I'm enjoying the beautiful scented flowers...

Good luck with your new tree!

Bookmark   April 8, 2009 at 8:14PM
e36yellowm3(7 Raleigh, NC)

I agree puglvr, Meyer Lemons seem to know how many fruit they can successfully carry, and drop the rest. But you do get to enjoy the beautifully scented flowers anyway.

Bookmark   April 8, 2009 at 8:52PM
llatchford

I would respectfully suggest that you not do it. I bought a nice Meyer for Christmastime and made the mistake of thinking the same thing- save the plant energy for growing bigger and stronger in the spring.

When I plucked every last flower off not only did I lose the heavenly scent of those great blossoms, but the little tree began a downward spiral from which it never recovered (despite my best efforts).