Mexican Lime Tree (Semi-Dwarf)

jmeena(9 Los Angeles, East SF Valley)April 22, 2013

Hello,

I'm new to GardenWeb. I live in Los Angeles. I have a Mexican lime tree (semi-dwarf) purchased approx. 2-3 years ago. It's always been in a pot (the same one pictured).

I think I've harvested maybe a handful of limes from it, total. It flowers but not fruit. Sometimes a small fruit will grow but turns black.

Can anyone tell me what is wrong with it? I'm attaching pics.

Thank you in advance.

This post was edited by jmeena on Mon, Apr 22, 13 at 13:36

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
hoosierquilt USDA 10A Sunset 23 Vista CA

Well, first off, it is severely chlorotic. You don't mention what potting mix it is in, how frequently and well you water, and how frequently you fertilize your tree?? Is the tree in full sun? And, it is possible you may need to pot up, have you checked the roots recently, to see if the tree is getting root-bound? Need more info to help you out.

Patty S.

Bookmark   April 22, 2013 at 6:33PM
jmeena(9 Los Angeles, East SF Valley)

Patty,

Thank you so much for the response. I'm also a newbie to gardening. I probably used Kelloggs Patio Plus All Natural Outdoor Potting Soil. I water it probably every third to fourth day with a hose until I see the water start to drain from the pot. I may have put fertilizer for the first time Feb or March of this year. It gets full sun (at least 8 hours).

I'm sorry I dont know what pot up or what is root-bound. I am so ignorant! I do not never checked the roots (how to?)

Jamie

Bookmark   April 22, 2013 at 7:52PM
hoosierquilt USDA 10A Sunset 23 Vista CA