Help! I have made a mess.

Gypsy_NC(Zone 7b)September 26, 2011

This is probably cheating but I am desperate. I have researched until my fingers have turned blue wth no results. While there is a forum directly related there are very few postings (one of mine from August of last year is still showing on the first page)and I am hoping that this will be OK because the plants in question are growing in Wake Forest!

I have 2 arborvitaes planted beside my front porch. They got huge (took over front steps, higher than the house) and my husband and I finally decided to try to do something with them before we had to completely take them out. I wanted to try to spiral them - I have some experience with topiary but this is extreme. We cut the trees back by half and tied the trunks (7-9) together. The trunks are visible at the top. When I look out my kitchen window I see bare trunks tied together at the top with greenery around. I have begun to trim them back heavily but I don't know where to go from here. My idea was to try to shape them & then do a spiral. They look terrible. Any help would be very appreciated - again sorry for asking on what is probably not exacly the right forum. As many people love topiary - you would think it would be hopping. At lease I can see my front porch again!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
butterfly4u

Gypsy,
Please post a pic. If is sooo hard to picture what you are describing. I know you will get help here if you post a couple of pics of what they look like now.

Bookmark   September 26, 2011 at 9:58PM
butterfly4u

Found something for you. Good Luck!

Here is a link that might be useful: Arborvitae topiary instructions, spiral.

Bookmark   September 26, 2011 at 10:25PM
Gypsy_NC(Zone 7b)

Butterfly - thanks so much for your help and for your willingness to help! If it ever stops raining (we have HUGE mushrooms in our yard) I will get you a pic. Thanks so much!

Bookmark   September 27, 2011 at 8:19AM
More Discussions