Wrought Iron Bed Frame as a pea support

deirdre_2007(7)December 1, 2008

Okay, I'm new to veggie gardening, but after the huge success of my tomatoes and herbs this year, I plan on venturing into some veggies next year. I plan on doing some peas, lettuces and broccoli in addition to my herbs and tomatoes.

I will be planting everything in self-watering containers. I know the peas need support and me being, er frugal for lack of a nicer word, I was thinking of using a Queen size wrought iron bed frame, (scrolled with intricate designs) as a plant support.

I'm hoping someone who has a lot more experience and wisdom could advise me on whether this is a "mad hatter" plan, or "quite brilliant". Obviously I'm hoping for the latter.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
rootdiggernc(Z-7A NC)

My vote is 'Quite Brilliant' :)

You may want to add some string or jute for the plants to grab on to where you have empty spots or where the iron is maybe to thick for them to wrap/grab. For several years we've used fence post with netting in between and it's easy to wind up and put away when we're done with it. We do ours down the middle of a raised bed so we can pick from both sides and then plant spring salad veggies (lettuce, spinach, radish, beets, etc... around the bottom in front of the peas. Makes for a yummy salad bed!

Bookmark   December 1, 2008 at 3:48PM
deirdre_2007(7)

Thank you. I'll continue on with my plan then. I'll try to remember to post pictures in the Spring.

Bookmark   December 1, 2008 at 4:26PM
transplanted2scin07(7b upstate SC)

I vote "brilliant", too.
By using a wrought iron headboard or footboard, you are incorporating artwork into an otherwise boring vegetable garden.

Bookmark   December 2, 2008 at 12:27PM
trianglejohn