Training Nelly Moser up tree trunk

daysquid(7a Annapolis, MD)September 13, 2012

I'm new to gardening and need some advice on just how to train a Nelly Moser to climb a tree trunk. I just brought her home and failed to ask the nursery any questions about how to do this. Thanks in advance for any and all help on this!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
NHBabs(4b-5aNH)

BuyorSell (I think) in the past posted a photo of a clem growing up a spiral of copper plumbing pipe around the trunk of a tree so that the clem followed the loose spiral around the trunk. You could also hang strings or netting from the tree if the lower branches are large enough to support the weight of the clematis.

It will also depend somewhat on the kind of tree. Since clematis aren't fond of root competition, certain trees with shallow thirsty roots will stunt the growth of the clematis unless the clem is planted in a pot (and maple roots will grow up into the pot through the drain holes of a pot sitting on the soil surface!)

Bookmark   September 13, 2012 at 2:30PM
buyorsell888(Zone 8 Portland OR)

My copper spiral doesn't actually work very well. You need something like metal grid fencing wrapped around the trunk or part of it.

or something like this trellis

Here is a link that might be useful: trellis at Amazon

Bookmark   September 14, 2012 at 8:34PM
daysquid(7a Annapolis, MD)

Do you remove the plant from the trellis in the pot and then feed the vine up your own trellis...to start its climb? I realize that this might be a silly question but this is all new to me as a first time gardner.

Bookmark   September 19, 2012 at 1:25PM
alameda/zone 8

Rather than buy expensive tree trellis, I use leftover scraps of my horse wire fencing - any kind will do - to wrap around a tree for the clematis to climb on. Once they cover the wire, you never even know its there. You can buy rolls of all kinds of hardware cloth, etc. at Lowes. I would think plastic netting would work also.