aloe ID

Microthrix(9)October 4, 2012

Ive had this aloe for about 4 years now, and it has grown nicely, even though it is still a bit small. i had it in a pot for about 3 years, and just last year i put it in the ground.

it seems to be ok with full sun, although it has yellowed a bit in summer. it has pupped prolifically, and has piut out tons of flowers. so any ideas?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
wantonamara Z8 CenTex

I am not possitive. Aloe peckii , Aloe mcloughlinii , or a hybrid between A. jucundi and one of those above. I think I am voting for aloe mcloughlinii. My understanding of A pekii is that its markings pale ast enters adulthood. Your rosettes seem crowded and strappier and upward curving instead of firmly outward open rosettes. It might be cultural but it might be a different species too. I am not an expert , just a blabber. Coffee does it to me.

If this is your aaloe. I would be interested in a small pup after awhile.

Here is a site thsat shows how confusing it can be in this corner of aloehood.

Here is a link that might be useful: Confusing striped aloes.

Bookmark   October 4, 2012 at 11:23AM
lzrddr(91360)

now that I have seen true Aloe mcloughliniis from location in Africa, I am pretty sure that is not that, nor does it look like Aloe peckii, which are notoriously sluggish off setters and generally have lost most of the spotting by the time they are in the offsetting stage. Aloe jucundiis are smaller. My guess is the same as 90% of all the similar looking aloes shown- Aloe hemmingii... very typical of this species.

Bookmark   October 4, 2012 at 12:05PM
wantonamara Z8 CenTex

My hemmengii still has not pupped but that is not a disagreement. My hemmengii is short and stout so my guess was for something other but it is a loner still and not pupping...Not a disagreement because I really don't know. This hemmengii is grown in part shade and watered once a week, sometimes twice a week. The markings and marginal teeth look right.