Clems sunk in their pots -- plant out now??

cohouserOctober 18, 2009

This spring, in a state of irrational exuberance, I bought several clems without knowing where I was going to put them. Then the hot weather came on, so I sunk them into the ground in their pots to try to keep them happy through the summer. There they still are. Is it too late to plant them now? Will they be OK through the winter in their pots?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
kentstar(5b, NE Ohio)

You could try it, I would mulch heavily and make sure to plant extra deep. It's a risky business at best, but if you do keep them in their pots I would still mulch heavily. I am by no means or stretch of the imagination an expert on clems. If fact, I'm pretty new to it.
But, that being said, they probably stand a better chance in the ground than still in the pots.
Have you looked at the root systems? Are they getting pot bound? If the roots look healthy, and they are leafed out well, you could plant with a couple of nodes 6 to 8 inches down underground to protect the plant against winter. It may still have a chance then. But, do it now, don't wait. Remember to keep it watered well until the ground freezes.

Bookmark   October 20, 2009 at 4:02PM
opheliathornvt zone 5

I do that all the time. I have pots that have been in the ground 3 or 4 years while I wait for them to get big enough to plant out, or for me to find a spot for them. I think mulching is a good idea, but I wouldn't worry about it. Of course, I don't consider myself a clem expert, either, but I do grow quite a number of them.

Bookmark   October 21, 2009 at 10:27PM
carolyn18810(z5)