LED Citrus Success?

cdevoe(5b)August 19, 2014

Hello...I'm a forum newbie. I was wondering if anyone has had noticeable/quantifiable success with citrus under LED grow lights. Perhaps this had been covered in the past and I apologize if it has. We're off-grid and could not use anything of higher wattage but I am looking to somewhat supplement our very overcast winters here in upstate NY.

Thanks!

Chad

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
Steve, Micro (6B ground, 5B roof)

I use a ceramic basement style socket with a CFL for cost reasons. You can use an LED instead. For best results use a bulb that directs its light downward. My buckets are aluminium lined and have proven to be extremely effective. You can use trash cans for your light setup. I also use a box grow system you can see using the Youtube link below

Here is a link that might be useful: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YaASoeaBErs

Bookmark   August 19, 2014 at 8:27AM

For my trees when they out grew the simple bucket lights, see link below. A pic of 1 of my 3 sweetlee tangerine tree from seed. They are all 18 months old at the time of picture and are all equivalent in size

Here is a link that might be useful: http://s1094.photobucket.com/user/wreristhechimney/library/sunshine2013?sort=4&page=1

Bookmark   August 19, 2014 at 8:39AM
cdevoe(5b)

Wow...impressive...and cost effective. Thanks for sharing. It seems a cfl has a good enough lighting spectrum. Do you use special "daylight" bulbs?

Bookmark   August 19, 2014 at 12:14PM

I use daylight bulb. It makes a difference. You will have no need for grow lights. They are excessively over priced and balance the spectrum by blocking some light in certain frequencies.