sigh, a newbie needing fern I.D.

jardin_de_mariaJuly 19, 2009

Hi all. I know that sometimes, people on forums may get frustrated with newbies asking obvious answers, or answers that can be easily found elsewhere...however, I hope that you are all kind people because when I tried researching for a plant I.D. , the information was so overwhelming!

I'm also completely new to this game of gardening. I am hoping to grow a prayer garden.

I would like to replant this fern I found on our property. I would like to find the best ways to do this, because it seems very picky in its location, though it grows VERY abundantly where it does. First, I need to know what it is.

if you need a more detailed photo, click on this one. (disregard the plant on the top and the one on your right)

I live in a tropical climate and whether it rains or not is very unpredictable. It's also very humid here.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7

It doesn't appear to be a fern. But perhaps you should post this image in the Plant ID forum, where there are many true experts in plant identification.

Here is a link that might be useful: Let's get that plant identified, follow me!

Bookmark   July 20, 2009 at 3:08PM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
jardin_de_maria

ah, thanks for the link. i can definitely use it later. it is a fern, i think maybe i should just get a better photo of it. hopefully i will get a camera this weekend ;)

Bookmark   July 20, 2009 at 10:09PM
More Discussions
Is this a moss / lichen / ???
Hello all, I picked this (attached picture) up along...
pessimizt
Rabbit Foot Fern dropping fronds
I have a rabbit foot fern, Davailla sp., that has been...
gill_bo_baggins
Tips on growing ferns from spores? Have prothallia!
This year I decided I'd try my hand at growing ferns...
candogal
Rescuing wilting Holly Fern
I'm struggling to grow my Japanese holly fern in my...
fieldofflowers
Sphagnum moss problem