How many plants should I buy???

gardengirl77January 1, 2011

Since I am new at cut flower farming.....I was wondering how many perennial plants like Delphinium I should be growing to have enough cuts for all summer/fall. I have about a half acre total that I am going to plant this spring with all my annual and perennial cut flowers. Could any of you give me a idea of how many Delphinium plants would be good to plant for that amount of land? I would appreciate any advice!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
thinman(Z5 MI)

Hi, Gardengirl. I hope you will get answers from wiser people than I, but my first thought is that I'm not seeing how we can help you get enough cuts for all summer/fall. How about starting with how many you think you can sell and working backward from there?

Are you going to buy plugs? If it were me, I'd probably just buy a tray of 128 and see how those did.

ThinMan

Bookmark   January 1, 2011 at 4:49PM
gardengirl77

Thinman,
I would like to buy some Delphinium plugs, but I wanted to ask some flower farmers who have more knowledge than I do how many plants I should start with....since I am new at this. Thanks for your input!

Bookmark   January 2, 2011 at 10:31PM
grannymarsh(z4-5 U.P. MICH)

Perennial plants are an investment for the future. One doesn't reap the full benefits for a couple years. Are you selling them at Market or wholesale ?

Bookmark   January 5, 2011 at 7:52PM
gardengirl77

I will mostly be selling to florists. I worked as a florist years ago....so I already have a ''in'' with a few of the local florists I knew when I worked. So far I have four different businesses that want to buy my flowers on a regular basis...so now I need to figure out how many plants I'm going to need to try and keep a good supply for them all summer!

Bookmark   January 6, 2011 at 9:21PM
tommyk