Growing moss in an indoor container

lachelsaNovember 14, 2008

Hi everyone,

I'm new to this site. I don't know a lot about gardening, but I really enjoy growing a variety of plants (mostly indoors), and they tend to live...

Moss really appeals to me, and I'd like to try to grow it a small planter indoors. Does anyone have any advice for me? What kind of moss would be best for a small planter in an indoor environment? I don't think I've ever seen small portions of live moss for sale at a nursery, so where could I go to purchase some? (I live in the Nashville area, if anyone's from around here.) Also, is there any kind of moss that grows small yellow flowers? I don't know if it's considered a "true moss" in that case; but it's really just the look I'm going for, rather than the technicalities.

Thanks for helping out a complete novice! I tried doing some research online but didn't come up with much.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
terrestrial_man(9)

Most commercially available terrestrial mosses are not suitable for indoor cultivation. The main reason is that they really do best with humidity and a cool temperature range from the mid 60sF down into the low 40sF. However, there are some tropical mosses available but then you still have the issue of humidity and providing a cool down at night for them (down into the upper 50sF).
But there is a group of aquatic to semi-aquatic mosses that can serve your purpose and will do quite well in a planter that this partially filled with distilled, rain, or r/o water. The most common one is called Java Moss.
Will growing in water the moss will grow out onto any nearby surfaces, such as a piece of wood.