Injured Kumquat, help!!! Can I save/root the injured part???

stephen90September 22, 2010

One of the branches of my Kumquat was bumped into and split nearly off, just sort of hanging there. After panicking, I pushed it back onto the tree where it's being held with light tape but I doubt it will heal. Will it? Can I remove and root the limb? Its a small limb, thinner than a pencil and a bit smaller than the palm of my hand with leaves included, and pictures of the tree are in my other thread on this page. Any help is appreciated!!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
bonechickchris(7A/6B NJ 08731)

I am not a pro here, so I would wait for one of the pro's to answer, however I did have a similar situation once with my ponderosa lemon tree.
I had a split once too. Since the poor thing was young and only had 3 limbs, I did not want to remove it, so I went out, and got some of that tree wound dressing ( looks like black tar) and painted that all over it, and then took that green stretchy plant tie instead of tape ( it is cheap and unlike tape, it is more breathable)and used that to hold it together. The limb eventually connected itself back together after a while and years later, it is a now a main large branch to my tree!

I am sure you could also remove it and try to root it also. You may have a 50/50 on that.

But like I said, this is just a personal experience, and you may want to wait for one of the pros here to chime in! Good luck! Christy

Bookmark   September 22, 2010 at 11:33AM
displacer(6)

If you match up the cambium exactly and tape it tightly (with floral tape, not scotch tape) it may heal. If it's a jagged rip this may be difficult or impossible, but it may be worth a shot.

Bookmark   September 22, 2010 at 5:20PM
ashleysf(9 San Jose,CA)