Meyers Lemon Sap?

safari928October 14, 2013

Newbie here so please be gentle.

Can anyone tell me what this is on my lemon tree? The tree(bush) is about 1 1/2yrs old. It is sticky like sap. The tree has sprouted flowers that turned into little lemons that fell off. I did get one lemon that grew to about the size of a grape then one day I walked into the room and the little guy was on the ground. Talk about heart breaking. It has gone through cycles of losing all of its leaves and then coming back with aggressive growth. I water it when I think it might be drying out and I add fertilizer once a month. Any help would be much appreciated.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
garret_87(Zone 6)

Welcome to the forum Safari928! We were all newbies at one point so no worries. Thanks for providing a photo. When and where did you get the tree? Also, kudos for attempting to grow citrus in a colder zone.

Have you checked the tree for pests? Specifically "Scale"? When my Meyer Lemon has signs of sticky sap on the leaves or pot it is usually a by product of these pesky Scales. If your tree has these bugs then spray with Neem oil. Do you have any Neem or Horticulture spray? (Scales attack my tree every winter so I keep it on hand)

Did the tree just recently flower? A few times I have seen a small amount of sap or nectar come out of flowers, but it was never much and didn't cause problems.

-Garret

Bookmark   October 14, 2013 at 5:49PM
safari928