Can somebody identify this please?

doke88April 11, 2012

I'm new to landscaping and my wife and I have four of these on the side of my house when we moved in. We like it and want in the front yard, too. The one pictured is about 3 feet and there are three others about 4-6 feet. Being a total novice I asked this in the shrub section and the guy there told me it was a conifer and should come here because somebody here would surely know. So I would appreciate any help. Thanks.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
wisconsitom

Great foliage, Y-Dog. It's either an arbor vitae-Thuja species -of some kind, or a Chamaecyparis of some other kind.

+oM

Bookmark   April 11, 2012 at 10:35PM
doke88

My first guess was a hinoki cypress of some kind.

Bookmark   April 11, 2012 at 11:33PM
clement_2006

Thuja occidentalis !,cultivar ?
Clement

Bookmark   April 12, 2012 at 1:39AM
brentm

Thuja plicata 'Grune Kugel'

-Brent

Bookmark   April 12, 2012 at 9:38AM
Sara Malone Zone 9b

If Grune Kugel gets that big I'm in trouble...literature has it 12-24" in 10 years....that plant in the photo looks bigger! Mine are also wider than they are tall. But it does look like a Thuja...

Bookmark   April 12, 2012 at 9:55AM
doke88

The one in the photo is about 3 feet high and there are three others that are even bigger. One has to be 5 or 6 feet tall. I have no idea how long they've been like that, though, or if they'll get bigger because I've only lived here for a little while. They may get 20 feet for all I know!!

Bookmark   April 12, 2012 at 10:13AM
monkeytreeboy15(Zone 7b/8a)

Looks like Thuja occidentalis rather than Thuja plicata to me--probably a dwarf cultivar.
Edwin might know the cultivar.. :0)

-Sam

Bookmark   April 12, 2012 at 10:47AM
ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5

in the original post in the shrub forum.. wherein i referred them to you gurus .. i said:

it reminds me more of an arb.. that i have as Thuja occidentalis 'Golden Globe' aka 'Globosa Aurea'