Squirrel damaged my testudinaria elephantipes, will it heal?

robinpla(10b)November 20, 2012

A squirrel took a chunk out of my quite expensive testudinaria elephantipes (dioscorea?) earlier this year. It has thrived and grown tremendously since, but still has a chunk missing. Will this eventually grow together? I love this plant, but it's somewhat damaged :(

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
cactusmcharris

Is that a Mark Muredian pot, too? Wowsers.

Bookmark   November 20, 2012 at 7:09PM
robinpla(10b)

No, I made that pot :) And here is a shameless plug for my pottery http://www.robinpetersson.com/pottery/

:)

Bookmark   November 20, 2012 at 7:41PM
karyn1(7a)

I can't answer your question about the squirrel damage but wanted to say that your pottery is just beautiful.

Bookmark   November 23, 2012 at 8:19AM
bikerdoc5968 Z6 SE MI

Both the plant and container are very beautiful. Is pottery a hobby or business for you? Are you self-taught? I would love to be able to do something like that. You are very artistic... good for you!

Bookmark   November 23, 2012 at 12:44PM
robinpla(10b)

Thanks everybody! I used to go to a pottery class for about two years, then I bought a wheel and a kiln so that I could make more experimental pots quicker and at home. I made quite a bit of pottery just after my last job and before I had twins (now a stay at home dad), and in the last two years I haven't made very many at all because I am BUSY :) I have sold maybe 20 pots so I wouldn't call that a business quite yet. Would love to make more and sell some day when I have more time.

Bookmark   November 23, 2012 at 3:02PM
robinpla(10b)

Here is another picture of the pot...if anyone is interested :)

Bookmark   November 23, 2012 at 3:50PM
Dzitmoidonc(6)

The plant will heal, some of the chunks will fall off, they are like big chunks of bark, but as long as you get a vine the caudex will grow.
I agree, great pot.

Bookmark   November 23, 2012 at 7:16PM
CorpsmanCooper(FL8b)