Dwarf Meyer Lemon Tree Infestation!!

koolkorDecember 19, 2013

I purchased a dwarf Meyer Lemon tree this past spring and It is doing very well. It has a few fruit on it that are almost ripe. However, today I noticed some bugs crawling around in the soil and I did some research and I believe they are millipedes. I did keep the tree outside all summer so it could get more light. Did they come in then? My tree is fairly large and I would hate to have to re-pot it but if I must I must. If so, should I not take it outside for the summer if this is going to happen again? Anyone have any alternatives to re-potting? I'm new to citrus so I need all the help I can get!

-K

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
koolkor

Here is the tree

Bookmark   December 19, 2013 at 12:48PM
koolkor

Here is what I think is a millipede in the soil

Bookmark   December 19, 2013 at 12:49PM
citrus_BC

I don't think millipedes are harmful to Citrus. ( don't quote me ). maybe they aero rate the soil like a worm? Wait till spring to repot! Between growth flushes. Keep an eye out for scale and spider mites If your tree is indoors.

There's a lot of folks here more knowledgable then I. Hopefully well both learn something.

Mike

Bookmark   December 19, 2013 at 3:05PM
johnmerr(11)

That is not a millipede; it is a centipede; you can google centipede and look for UCDavis management/control recommendations; but I wouldn't stress about them, they are normally considered beneficials.

Bookmark   December 19, 2013 at 9:45PM
rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7

Yes, that is a picture of a centipede. They are well known carnivores and can be considered beneficial in the garden. They can bite and small ones are mildly venomous. I find house centipedes occasionally in my home (they have really long legs) and give them a' burial at sea '.

I don't like seeing them in the house....they always seem to end up in the bathroom, looking for water.