Best flowers for pressing?

solstice98(9b/Orlando)July 8, 2006

Hi all,

I regularly post on the Florida Gardening forum but am new to this one. I'm a novice at pressing and have learned so much by reading through earlier posts here this morning! Wow! Thanks to everyone who has posted in the past several months, I think I have a pretty good idea how to get started.

My questions are:

- Is there a special trick to pressing large flowers, like hibiscus?

- Are some flowers just not suitable for pressing, like coneflowers with the large center cone?

- For spire-type flowers with petals on all 4 sides, like Cats Whiskers for example, do you remove some of the back-side petals before pressing?

- If I want to do some very thin slices of citrus fruit, would it be better to pick it before it's ripe so it's dryer or do fruits not work at all?

Thanks!

Kate

White Coneflower and a white Cat's Whiskers

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
josh_z8a

Hi Kate. Best for pressing are what I'd call "flat-faced, single-ply" flowers like Violets, Pansies, Geraniums, or ferns, leaves, etc. You can experiment with others as you mentioned with your Cat's Whiskers (lovely photo), but I don't think there would be any way to press Coneflower.

I've no experience with fruit except for Pomegranate which will dry on its own unsliced. Well, I've had limes dry whole but it was unintended...and they turned a dark greenish-black...not pretty!

I only grow the Hibiscus coccineus which is easily pressed but it is one of those flatfaced singleply fkowers...I think the others would do better dried in silica gel.

Check out a couple of library books...just to get a good basic understanding of the different methods of preserving flowers. Then experiment...you have access to so many lovely plants that may not be found in books(like your Cats Whiskers).

Good luck. josh

Bookmark   July 15, 2006 at 3:48AM
busyd95