Switching to Day Lilies

brigarif KhanApril 23, 2011

Hi,

I have been Breeding Amaryllis for the last fifteen years, now I would like to try my hand on growing Day Lilies.

Will a friend help me by exchanging seeds with amaryllis seeds or gift them to me.

Just put a few seeds in a postal envelope and post it at following address.

Brig. M Arif Khan

3/A-G-Gulberg II

Lahore

Zip Code 54660

Pakistan

E-Mail: brigarif@hotmail.com

Thanks Arif

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
najoba(8b)

I'd like to suggest that you go the the Lily Auction where you can buy daylily seeds for reasonable prices. Personally, I prefer those in which both parents are similar in appearance. I would be happy to suggest certain ones, if you are interested.

Here is the link: http://www.daylily.com/cgi-bin/auction.cgi?dispsd

I gave away all my seeds when we moved, so I don't have any at present. I won't have any more now until fall.

Nancy

Bookmark   April 25, 2011 at 8:06AM
nat4b(4)

I don't have any seeds, sorry. I was just wondering if it's really possible to just send seeds abroad in an envelope?? I thought it was prohibited.

Bookmark   April 25, 2011 at 3:02PM
sunny_daze_gardener(5 MI)

I think the seeds would sprout in the time it would take to send them to Pakistan. Just my opinion. I have had them come from Canada to Michigan and they were sprouted and died by the time they got here. This time of year when they are removed from the fridge,they are ready to sprout!

Nancy VB

Bookmark   April 25, 2011 at 5:17PM
najoba(8b)

The last several puchases of seeds from the Lily Auction remained in their little zip plastic bags and went unsoaked, etc. for more than a month due to illness. They did not sprout until I finally soaked them in distilled water and hydrogen peroxide. I was immensely pleased, as I thought I had waited too long. The resulting seedlings are all vigorously growing outdoors now.