HAVE: wildflower seeds

kizzyseeds(Z7b VA)August 3, 2012

I took a stroll along the tracks today and collected these:

Daucus carota (Queen Anne's Lace)

Verbascum phoeniceum (Purple Mullein)

Plantago lanceolata (Narrow leaf Plantain)

Bird's Foot Trefoil

Cirsium arvense (Field Thistle)

Verbascum thapsus (Wooly/Moth Mullein)

And I'm not sure of this last one, but it looks like Melampodium leucanthemum, 1" yellow daisy-like blooms, narrow leaves, 12" tall in neat mounds. They don't look as dense or full as regular butter daisies.

I'm new to collecting wildflowers, which is a sad confession for a seasoned seed scavenger and plant pirate like myself:)

Peek at my list for other seeds, will do SASBE on these if you don't have any seeds I need. Thanks flower buds.

Sharon

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
kizzyseeds(Z7b VA)

Well, I've been researching for 2 days to ID that pretty little yellow flower, and I'm still guessing. The bloom is less than 1" and there is a central stem with a few lateral ones. It's not dense but forms a neat mound. The leaves are very linear, similar to fennel or dill. It may be a Packera or Senecio, but not a Cressleaf Groundsel, maybe some sort of Composite or Butterweed. The beneficials were all over it.
I tell you, the RR tracks are a good place for wildflowers.
I saw the EBST laying eggs on the QAL this morning, and there are Skippers and Buckeyes everywhere. I think some grain must have fallen off a railcar, now there are big patches of wheat (yeah, I got seeds)! Also Oenothera biennis and Bird's Foot Trefoil blooming in great amounts.

I don't get stumped often, but if yall have any ideas about the yellow flower, plmk. Sorry I can't take a photo.
I'll SASE these for you, flower buds:)
Sharon

Bookmark   August 4, 2012 at 1:08PM
Plantwhisper(8-9)

Hi Sharon,