My vanilla orchid (?) is not doing well

manganmaggieOctober 10, 2013

I recently bought a vanilla orchid for my boyfriend - he loves this plant, but it is not doing well.

We've been trying to water it about once a week, and keeping it out of direct sun, but when a few leaves died recently, we moved it into more sun to see if that would work. Now even more leaves seem to be dying.

Any advice? Also - the store where I bought it said it was a vanilla orchid, but I'm not sure. If anyone knows differently, I'd be grateful!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
BOOSHIFIED

While I am by no means an expert I can offer what advice I do know.

First off you are probably watering too much. Apparently this is the number 1 cause of orchids kept in homes. I water mine once every 2-3 weeks and I make sure to not water too much.

Secondly mine do best in bright but indirect light. For example I have a counter below a window I set mine on. The window is maybe a foot above the counter so the orchid is shielded from direct sun light but it is still very bright in that spot.

Again I am just saying what has worked for me. Good luck.

Bookmark   October 11, 2013 at 8:03PM
zzackey(8b GA)

I never saw a varigated one. It looks like a wandering jew to me.

Bookmark   October 13, 2013 at 3:19PM
florauk(8/9)

Vanilla planifolia 'Variegata'. There is a lot of information on the net if you Google that name. Or you could ask on the Orchid Forum here on GW. But the overwatering and light suggestions above are probably a good start.

Bookmark   October 14, 2013 at 11:07AM
keiki(10 FL)