Perennials for Sandy soil

minnesotabackyardFebruary 25, 2012

I am new to this forum, but I hope you can help me. Our cabin in northwest Wisconsin has sandy soil so I'd like to find perennials that will survive in our yard. Deer resistance would also be helpful. We also have a hill that desperately needs plants that will help stop erosion.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
northspruce(z3a MB CDA)

Hi, welcome! I've been gardening in silty-sandy soil for a few years and I've found that dianthus of all types like it very much. Hostas and sedums also do well. I'll try to think of some others. As for your erosion, Virginia Creeper likes my soil and would stabilize a bank. I'm not sure if that's what you're looking for. In very sandy soils it seems it can run amok. You might check with your local Ag Extension for what they recommend in your area.

Bookmark   February 25, 2012 at 4:25PM
minnesotabackyard

Thanks so much for your reply. My bank is very sunny. I'd like whatever I plant to take over, so if Virginia Creeper is a good ground cover, that would be perfect. I'll try that this spring.

I have lots of hosta varieties at home in Minnesota and have transplanted several at the cabin. I love them, but so do the deer. I'll try the sedum and dianthus.

Again, thanks!

Bookmark   February 25, 2012 at 5:13PM
northspruce(z3a MB CDA)

Sorry I forgot about deer and hostas, I don't get deer. Other recommendations would be poppies (oriental, Icelandic, or annual), columbines, monkshood, delphiniums and peonies. They all do well in light soil and aren't bothered by deer.

I know I already recommended it but I'd be cautious using Virginia Creeper in a natural habitat. Birds eat the berries and spread them around. There is a long-developed cabin/resort area near here with pure sand soils and the trees and everything have become smothered with escaped Virginia Creeper. I have never witnessed this anywhere else but it's worth keeping in mind.