How to water a fig tree in a container ?

sam89(Z10SF)March 30, 2011

I'm new to fig tree planting. I purchased a fig tree (10" whip) in a one gallon pot. I repotted the tree in 3 gallon container. How should I water the tree ? The tree just leafed out yesterday. By the way, the soil I used is Uni-Gro organic potting soil with 10 % Perlite added. If I overwater the tree would the root rot ? The container is under the Sunlight and how can I keep the pot from overheating.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
foolishpleasure

First of all the container has to have good drainage. Also if you used the right mix of Sphagnum Moss (50%), Soil, Humus, and perlite in equal amounts it does not need much watering. The Sphagnum Moss absorbs and hold water.

Bookmark   March 30, 2011 at 3:20AM
tapla (mid-MI z5b-6a)

Containerized plants should be watered thoroughly, until at least 10-15% of the total volume of water applied exits the drain hole. This flushes accumulating salts from tap water & fertilizer from the soil. If you cannot water this way w/o risking root rot, your soil is inappropriate for the planting and limiting growth/vitality.

Soils comprised of primarily fine particulates like peat/coir/compost/topsoil/garden soil hold excessive amounts of water and are very hard on root health when used conventionally.

Al

Bookmark   March 30, 2011 at 3:37PM
sam89(Z10SF)

The potting soil is too heavy after watering and the pot is too big for this tiny fig tree. The root ball is small with respect to the pot size. I'll apply some trick by resting the container on garden soil. Let the earth remove excessive water out.
Thanks guys. Al, I read your article about "Dealing with Water-Retentive Soils".

Bookmark   March 31, 2011 at 3:10AM
foolishpleasure