Will figs grow in Michigan?

riverman777July 26, 2008

Greetings to all. I'm new to gardening and new to Michigan.

I'm from Florida, and enjoyed the fig preserves my mother would make. I bought a small place near Owosso, with some wonderful apple trees and such. If possible I would like to plant some figs up here, but I don't know a soul in these parts and not sure if this is possible. Thanks for any help. Michael

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
chills71(Zone 6b Mi)

yes, depending upon your climate (I'm not originally from Mi, so I'm not sure where Owosso is) and how much work you're willing to do to grow figs, it is possible.

I'm in Saint Clair Shores (which puts me North-east of Detroit, and north of Canada) and I have one fig in the ground and a number of figs in pots. The one in the ground needs to be protected each winter and the potted ones are brought inside and stored in a cold-preserving room off of my basement for the winter. There are a number of ways of protecting in-ground planted figs over-winter, and they all require a bit of work. Potted might be a good place to start if you have a place to keep the fig in the winter (an attached, unheated garage can be a viable option).

You'll find there are a few of us in this forum growing figs in Michigan (and at least one that I can recall in Chicago as well).

~Chills

Bookmark   July 26, 2008 at 10:46PM
riverman777

Sounds like the fig prefers a warmer climate I guess. I was hoping maybe for a hybrid perhaps that proformed well in colder climates. Maybe I should consider a native fruit tree. Thanks again. Do you know of a web resource for native michigan fruit trees that do well?

Bookmark   July 27, 2008 at 12:40AM
chills71(Zone 6b Mi)

Have you ever heard of a pawpaw?

There are lots of fruit trees and shrubs that will grow well in Michigan.

Check the link for an option you probably aren't already familiar with!

~Chills