Tree guys - can this be saved?

marciaz3 Tropical 3 Northwestern OntarioSeptember 8, 2011

We've managed to avoid deer all these years, but just now a bear broke this crabapple tree. Doesn't look good, does it? Can you give me some advice?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
marricgardens

I'm not a tree expert but i do have a DH who drives the tractor over shrubs and breaks them - not on purpose tho. When he does it and it looks like yours, he puts two stakes in on opposite sides of the shrub and duct tapes around the stakes, not all the way up but in two spots, to hold it together. This way the shrub is forced upright and it will keep growing. This has happened before and it worked. The shrub will end up with a crooked stem but it did keep growing. Good luck! Marg

Bookmark   September 8, 2011 at 9:26AM
marciaz3 Tropical 3 Northwestern Ontario

That's what DH did this morning already. We're hoping it takes - that's the main trunk, of course. I wonder if i should give it extra water now - it's pretty dry here.

Bookmark   September 8, 2011 at 10:00AM
marricgardens

I forgot to mention, we are also foliar feeding it besides the water. We are using Aggrand, a liquid fertilizer. If it's really dry, I would add more water. Another thing, is the bark broken all the way around? It doesn't look like it so that's good. What kind of tree is it? Marg

Bookmark   September 8, 2011 at 11:03AM

It's a crabapple tree - not sure what it's called other than that. The bark wasn't broken all around. That was something else i looked for, and a good sign that it's not.

This happened so quickly. DH is sure the tree wasn't broken when he went out to look around the first time we heard the dog barking. I knew it was something serious because it wasn't a "Squirrel! Squirrel! Squirrel!" bark! This is the dog's first encounter with a bear and i'm sure he thought that was the biggest darn squirrel he'd ever seen!

Bookmark   September 8, 2011 at 11:14AM
nutsaboutflowers(2b/3a)