Giant tomato

tomato_dude(z4 mn)March 12, 2004

Anyone willing to share info on the giant variety they are

growing for the big one?

Ron

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
brugboi2003

Delicious Red Tomatoes is the variety that holds the record at over 7 pounds! It is sold at www.giantsofthegarden.com

:~)
John

Bookmark   March 12, 2004 at 7:47PM
justmee(7 Okla.)

Do you do something to the plants to get large tomatoes? Like pinch off all but the one bloom? I'm new to tomatoes.

Bookmark   March 13, 2004 at 2:51PM
brugboi2003

Once the fruit starts growing, yes, you do cut all of the rest of the maters off, until you pick that one, but, you can in fact have more then one fruit in each plant, maybe up to 3, or 4? Just water, and fertilize well, with mictonutriants.

John

Bookmark   March 13, 2004 at 4:54PM
Booboo(z5a IN)

What kind of micronutrients/brand name do you use? Are you talking something like SuperThrive?

Thanks,
Boo

Bookmark   March 13, 2004 at 5:35PM
brugboi2003

Kelp, or fish emulsion, I am using a kelp powder this spring. Stinks SOOO bad when you get it wet, but is SOOO good for plants!

You can get kelp and or fish emulsion at http://www.neptunesharvest.com/ This is what Bruce Whittier uses, the guy that grew the biggest pumpkin ever grown weighed. It is good for all kinds of plants, use it as a foliar spray once, or twice a week

John

Bookmark   March 13, 2004 at 7:02PM
Booboo(z5a IN)

Thanks ... I already have some fish emulsion. Also I have Maxicrop which might be good also?

Boo

Bookmark   March 16, 2004 at 8:52PM
bigtomatotaste(z7)

the record is 7 lb 12 oz set 1986 by gordon graham of edmon
Ok USA

Bookmark   March 20, 2004 at 1:33PM
slc00(zone4 up MI)