giant sunflowers

helianthus_growerJuly 21, 2006

Hi all im new to this site but i have been growing giant sunflower varieties for many years,is there anyone else out there that grows them? if so what are your results?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
gianteggplant(z9CA)

I have grown them (Craven, Bott's, Diane's, etc) for the past several years and the tallest had been only 12 ft (but got a near 20' head in 2005). Last year my giant sunflower were permature, and again this season. I don't know the cause but I think it has something to do with the strange weather pattern. As for the height I find that cooler weather actually produce taller plants. The temperature here for the last few days is in the 90s.

Bookmark   July 22, 2006 at 2:18AM
helianthus_grower

So far this year i have a row of 12 botts strain sunflowers in my front garden that are 10ft tall & are not showing any sign of head formation as yet.I have a 13ft american giant in my back garden which is about to flower as i started it off a bit early (in mid April). I also have a row of 8ft cravens which i started off in mid may.The problem is,is that im moving house in the first week in august & im taking these giants with me,i hope this wont stunt the growth too much.

Bookmark   July 22, 2006 at 7:11AM
farmfreedom

I believe there exists a " skyscraper strain " that has tall ones the world record is around 25 feet .

Bookmark   July 24, 2006 at 11:21AM
gianteggplant(z9CA)

hgrower, sunflower don't adapt well when you move them to a new environment, which I have done in the past. Sudden increase in temperature can kill them.
farmfreedom, The world record strain is Craven. skyscraper is just one of many giant varieties.

Bookmark   July 24, 2006 at 1:37PM
helianthus_grower