How to pollenate Hedychium?

TimMAz6(6b)August 25, 2013

My Hedychiums will be blooming soon and was wondering how to pollenate them to create seed. Anyone have tips? Here's the ginger from last summer.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
HoosierBob SW Indiana Zone 5

Hey Tim!

Bob in Indiana here. I did a bit of internet research and found that the male and female parts are somewhat fused in hedychium, so that unlike, say, daylilies, you don't have distinct parts. The long piece out of the middle of the flower has the stigma (receptive female part) on the tip and just below that, the wide part (anther, with pollen). Theoretically, you just take the pollen and put it on the stigma above or onto that of another plant. I have NO experience with producing ginger seed, so I hope someone else will chime in with some tips for you. I know some species like greenii are supposed to be sterile, so there may be some plants that won't make seed for you no matter what you do.

I am guessing your plant is Tara...mine is blooming here, too. A beautiful flower with lots of color and not much fragrance. It's been a very reliable bloomer for me, in a 5-gallon pot. Is yours in the ground?

Hope that information is somewhat helpful. I'm going to include a picture from the internet that you may find of use.

Bob

Bookmark   August 29, 2013 at 3:00PM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
jamesmaloy