Well-behaved groundcover(s) that will drape over stone walls?

lmarks(z6 NY)April 22, 2006

I have a couple of tiers of rock retaining wall that need softening. Are there any groundcover plants that would drape over the edge? Maybe the vine forum is really where I should be heading. Forgive me, I'm new at this! The site varies between partial shade and deep shade. I'd also love plants that would grow in the crevices between the stones - but maybe that's a question for the rock garden forum! Argh. Anyway, I first thought "groundcover" because it probably needs to be something shallow-rooted - the retaining walls look like they're dry-stacked but actually have cinder-block reinforcement behind them, with just about 3" of soil on top of the cinderblocks. So something that creeps nicely up to the edge of the wall, and perhaps over it, is probably a good place to start.

Thanks for your patience with my incoherence.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
diggerdee zone 6 CT

There is a neighborhood house which has a short stone wall at the entrance, along the driveway, and they have creeping phlox (phlox subulata) which hangs over the wall and is absolutely spectacular this time of year. I never paid attention to their sun/shade situation, but I think there is a large tree on the other side of the driveway, so it may be part sun/part shade. I know that phlox can grow in lean, rocky soil, so it may be able to live in crevices. I do think it needs more sun, though.

Depending on how high your walls are, I've often seen pictures of a certain kind of thyme hanging over a wall. Darn, I can see the actual picture - it's been used in several catalogs for years now - but I can't think of the kind of thyme, and again, don't know the sun requirements.

Sorry I can't be of more personal-experience-type help. I'm still waiting to be able to build stone walls on my property! Good luck!

:)
Dee

Bookmark   April 23, 2006 at 10:33PM
gardengal48