Pumpkins not producing female flowers

megleigh11(7)July 22, 2009

Hi everybody, its my first time trying to grow pumkins, and I'm having no luck. The plants sprouted up out of an old pumpkin in my backyard in about mid-May. I am keeping them in potted containers, which I think could be a problem. I fertilize the pumpkins with miracle grow organic fertilizer every week.I have lots of male flowers but no females! The temps have been in the 90s-80s with lows in the 70s-60s, and the plants wilt if I do not water them daily. Could they be too stressed to produce females? Will I have pumpkins by halloween? Any help would really be appreciated!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
iam3killerbs(7 NC Sandhills)

How big are the pots?

Squash and pumpkins need a lot of room for their roots. I wouldn't try to grow one in anything less than a half-barrel.

If you can keep the roots cooler by shading the pots somehow it might help.

Bookmark   July 22, 2009 at 10:20PM
megleigh11(7)

Thanks! They are not too big. I am planning on planting the pumpkins out in the yard soon.

Bookmark   July 25, 2009 at 1:41PM
iam3killerbs(7 NC Sandhills)

Pumpkins don't like to be transplanted.

Except for people who absolutely have to get a start on a short season, direct-seeding them usually does better. And the smaller they are when transplanted the more likely they are to live.

Bookmark   July 25, 2009 at 7:28PM
engineeredgarden(7, nw Alabama)

I'm growing pumpkins this year for the first time, too - and so far have 3 fruit developed. I trellis mine, because the vine grows REALLY long!

EG

Here is a link that might be useful: My gardening blog

Bookmark   July 31, 2009 at 10:10PM
bobboberan