How to propagate Snowflake Viburnum and Pink Fringe Lorapetalum

Kathy BochonkoAugust 28, 2005

I am interested in trying some propagating-- Snowflake Viburnum and Pink Fringe Lorapetalum. I am assuming both can be done via softwood cutting, I read mention somewhere that I need to take a heel with the lorapetalum. Has anyone successfully rooted either of these? If so can you give a newbie step by step advice? What sort of medium. Can I still root some for in time for the fall trade? I am also hoping to root Caryopteris 'Sunshine Blue' will these three need different methods? I am still pretty new to propagation but I think it is fun. I have done a few hydrangeas and other easy ones like that. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
bruggirl100(z9 FL)

I've rooted lorapetalum by scraping the underside of a limb and anchoring it to the ground with a rock. It layered quite easily that way.

Down here in Florida, we take semi-hardwood cuttings and use the liquid type rooting hormone, which is more successful with rooting shrubbery cuttings.

Bookmark   September 1, 2005 at 11:22AM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
lindagail41(zone 7 GA)

I have had a hard time propagating most viburnums by cuttings and I am not familiar with the Snowflake, but the other responder was right about layering a branch on the ground. If you can keep it moist, you may have roots before the trade.