I need suggestions on grass for a privacy screen

birdribOctober 20, 2012

I live on the low-side of a very busy highway so i have three concerns: Noise,Privacy, and salt resistance from winter road salt. I would like to know if anyone has any suggestions a nice dense and tall grass for my predicament. Also how easy is it to control and when should i cut it down? Are there any evergreen varieties? I am relatively new to gardening but I have a lot of planting to do, so i'll surely be back with more questions.

Thanks in advance

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
spiderjoe

Miscanthus �Giganteus� would make a good barrier. I'd pick one of the varigated varieties because it's looks better from a distance. Like Miscanthus giganteus 'Lottum'
9' x 6'

Bookmark   October 21, 2012 at 9:47AM
donn_(7b-8a)

As much as I love grasses, I probably wouldn't use one for your purpose. The only screen-sized grasses in your zone would be warm season varieties which have to be cut to the ground in early spring, and will not regain screen height until early summer at the earliest. That leaves you without a screen for quite a while. There are no evergreen screen-sized grasses which will live in your zone...other than that grass everyone forgets is a grass...Bamboo.

Check out Fargesia dracocephala 'Rufa.' It grows 7-10 feet tall, is not invasive and is evergreen. In a few years, you'll have a beautiful, nearly maintenance-free screen.

Bookmark   October 21, 2012 at 10:11AM
birdrib

I forgot to mention it is full sun and relatively sandy soil.
Will the fargesia do ok up there? Where i am thinking of planting is actually on top of a 5 foot retaining wall. I can not build a Privacy fence more than 3 feet high in this area due to city ordinance.The rest of my property sits on the low side of that retaining wall. Also, how does bamboo do with salt spray in the winter. It will be planted about 18 feet from a very heavily traveled road. Thanks don and spider.