Which shrubs/perennials are still flowering for you?

maylandNovember 13, 2008

I'm interested in getting year-round color from shrubs/perennials, so I'm trying to mix plants that flower at different times, and to include some long-bloomers.

I have 2 Agastaches and a Salvia that have been flowering for months now:

Agastache Tutti Frutti (planted around a Callicarpa Americana that has similar colored berries) (the house covered with ivy is not ours!):

Agastache Coronado (i think, i am not very good at documenting!)

Salvia Black and Blue has a few flowers left (you can just see them behind the Itea Virginica, which is turning red now):

I'm also enjoying how my Abelias look after flowering. The tiny flowers themselves were long-lasting. This is Rose Creek after the flowers have dropped off:

I also have Camellias, Toad Lily, and Tiarella flowering now.

My Echinaceas did not flower very long, but this was their first year and they were very small, so I hope for more next year.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
esh_ga

My Salvia greggii is still blooming quite a bit.

Bookmark   November 13, 2008 at 3:30PM
razorback33(z7)

Camellia sasanqua - several cultivars
Ligularia tussilaginea (syn. Farfugium japonica)
Tricyrtis hirta (Toad Lily) cultivars
Aster georgianus (syn. Symphyotrichum georgianum) - Georgia Aster / European Honeybee magnet! (Mt. Cuba Center clone)
Rb

Bookmark   November 13, 2008 at 4:57PM
esh_ga

Oh that's true for me too - Georgia Aster. Mayland, I should mail you some seeds for that.

I also have Mexican sage (Salvia leucantha), Turk's cap hibiscus, and Salvia coccinea blooming.

Obviously Salvia as a genus appears to be a good one to have ....

Bookmark   November 13, 2008 at 5:27PM
rosie(Deep South, USA 7A/B)