lime green heuchera with scorched leaves????

othertime(7)May 30, 2013

I have three lime green heucheras that are having some issues. All the plants seem to like there position but the lime green ones. They have been growing like gangbusters but are now developing leaves that have this scorch look to them. They get morining sun till about noon. I am in Northern va and they are on the north east side of the house but get shade from noon on.

I put some holly tone around them just as a general fertilizer at low rates and have been watering once a week deep.

Anyone have any ideas??? Thanks

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
othertime(7)

second picture

Bookmark   May 30, 2013 at 11:00PM
othertime(7)

grouping picture

Bookmark   May 30, 2013 at 11:02PM
ilovetogrow z9 Jax Florida

How old is the garden? Some of mine seem to loose a few when establishing themselves. Very pretty layout. Keep us posted with updates. I am in my 2nd year with heuchera so I am still learning. Paula

Bookmark   May 31, 2013 at 4:09PM
dgregory_so.cntrl.IL_zone6a

Really nice color combos! Very inspirational too :-)

Sorry I have no advise about the burn other than the ferts might be too rich for the light color ones. You may need to apply it at a much lower rate than you do the darker heuchs.

Hopefully with time it will settle down.

Deb

Bookmark   June 1, 2013 at 6:57PM
othertime(7)

Thanks for the comments. I planted this row last fall so its a relatively new bed. Kind of miffed as why only the lime green plants are scorching. Maybe it has to do with the how light they are.????

Bookmark   June 2, 2013 at 8:16AM
jan_on zone 5b

I have a lime green in a row of other colours - it is also the only one that seems to scorch. It is large and healthy looking otherwise - I just remove the offending leaves and it doesn't seem to mind a bit. It gets morning sun, but really doesn't seem to like hot days much.
Jan

Bookmark   June 6, 2013 at 5:21PM
linnea56(z5 IL)