Japanese Cucumber Issues!

kurosukeSeptember 17, 2011

Hi everyone!

I am new to gardening and need some help!

I potted a Japanese cucumber seedling outside in a pot with store-bought soil about a month ago. The plant initially grew very quickly and vined around the trellis, with yellow flowers popping up regularly.

Now whenever a flower emerges, it quickly shrivels and dies. Also, the leaves are starting to shrivel around the edges and are turning white/yellow. The curly vines are also starting to stop searching and turn brown :(.

I noticed there was what looks like worm/insect trails around the lower leaves, so I sprayed the plant with an insecticide. I also recently sprayed it with some anti-disease spray to try and see if that was an issue.

As for watering, I water them every few days, and less if there's been a lot of rain.

Can anyone point out what I'm doing wrong? Any advise would be greatly appreciated!!!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
ediblelandscape

You didn't say where your garden was, but I have the same problems with dying leaves, and plants. Just after the vines produce a few cucumbers, the leaves get brown and the whole vine eventually dies. This happens to some other vegetables, and I believe it is rust, a fungus disease. I just plant new ones all the time but a possible treatment is baking soda with a dormant oil applied to the leaves. Other fungicides are available at the garden shop. This fungus grows better in wet areas but I live in Wainane a very dry area.

Bookmark   September 19, 2011 at 5:53PM
Pelarin

Cucumbers can be difficult in Hawaii, but I've had friends who've had success with them.

It's difficult to make a diagnosis without a picture of the damage, but here are some ideas: