Hello Up North I need help

mikeandbarb(z8 D/FW)September 14, 2005

I have a friend up north in Ma. and she needs to know how to care for a hibiscus, below is the questions she has emailed me. Hope you can help her out. BTW I know the ones I have here in Texas die back and return in the spring but I don't know of any hibiscus that don't die back where you have to cut the limbs to the ground other then rose of sharons.

(I am wondering about my Hybiscus, Don't know if it will make it through the winter. How can I find out? I don't have the tag for it, so I do not know what kind it is. The one I am talking about is the Topiary one. It was a lot of money wouldn't want it to go to waste. I love it, it bloomed all summer and it still has several blooms on it. I have other Hibiscus and the garden center said they would weather the winter. Someone said to put it in the garage. It is in a huge pot so I can move it easily.

I have never done that before. Do you water plants that you put in your garage or cellar or leave them alone??????? the other option is to bring it inside but it would have to go in a room that faces East and the window is not that big. Help!!!!!!!!!)

Also I'll ask her to send me a pix so it might be id.

TIA, Barb

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
mikeandbarb(z8 D/FW)

Here is the picture of the hibiscus

Bookmark   September 14, 2005 at 9:25PM
rjj1(Norman OK Zone7)

This is a tropical that will not survive in Ma. if left outdoors. I have no experience keeping them in a cellar. A dark garage that will freeze is not a safe option.

That's a bad photo to try and id with. Photos are best when taken on a cloudy day or when the plant is in the shade. It "might" be painted lady. Look at Mrbrownthumbs post on when people do dumb things.

randy

Bookmark   September 15, 2005 at 1:43PM
bruggirl100(z9 FL)