Does it count if.....

trudyjean82(z8SWGA)September 13, 2002

If u don't have a garden, but still do the canning, and putting up does that count as homesteading? T

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
farmyardacres

Yes, trudyjean, if you want to be considered a homesteader then you are a homesteader. I consider myself one and I'm just starting out, I don't even have my land cleared yet. kathyjo

Bookmark   September 13, 2002 at 5:29PM
robocop(zone4-5)

i just signed on to this new forum today and already responded to one question. I have one now. Are there any men that use it. I seem to be in the minority here. Not that i can't learn from a woman as well as i man. I was just curious. Ladies have a nice day. Great hearing you exchange ideas.

Bookmark   September 14, 2002 at 6:48PM
Jwj__(Rocky MT 5)

Robocop
I am sure that as others find the forum you will find other gents in residence,, But that said let me be the first to say welcome,,, I know that if my husband should bounce in with input it will be much differnt then my own since we do alot of differnt jobs around our kingdom,,he is my chainsaw welding rototiller guy,, ok ok so I also force the man and his poor children to fish and hunt on a few occasions pick berries,,as well..

Bookmark   September 14, 2002 at 9:30PM
bruceNH(z5NH)

Hey robocop, got something against lady homesteaders! I have been reading threads but have not ventured in, noticed jwj was around. Watch out for jwj, she is trouble! Watch what you say!

Bookmark   September 15, 2002 at 8:16PM
Marie_TX(z8 N Houston)

Welcome to the forum, Robo. I think if you read "Cold Mountain" by Charles Frazier you see a woman homesteader in full action. If she were alive today, she no doubt would not have time to visit online forums, but she would have a lot to contribute if she did. By the way, I understand they're making a movie of that book and Nicole Kidman is playing the part. What a riot!! -- Marie

Bookmark   September 20, 2002 at 8:37AM