Can't figure out what's eating basil?!

futurevegJune 2, 2009

Hi everyone, I'm basically new to gardening and plants. Recently decided to try and grow some herbs for culinary use.

Anyway, I have 2 sweet basils and 1 lettuce lettuce leaf basil that are both being slowly eaten by something.

The plants are primarily indoor, but I have taken them out on the porch occasionally for about 3-4 hour periods.

The soil is 1:1 ratio of potting soil and perlite with some sphagnum moss mixed in. Fertilized once with Garden Club organic all purpose plant food.

I tried spraying them with garlic spray, which had no effect on whatever is eating it. I don't know what I should do next.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
xenka

Is it possible that it's a cat? Or a rabbit or some other type of fluffy critter? I realize that sounds silly, because I'm sure you would have noticed if there were animals near your plants. But my cats like to sample my herbs every now and then and this is similar to the bites that they make so I just thought I'd throw that out there.

Bookmark   June 2, 2009 at 6:57PM
ksrogers(EasternMass Z6)

Not much damage right now, I wouldn't worry. Yes, it could be from domestic animals. Right now, I see gypsy moth caterpillers here and will have to start putting out some traps soon. The oak trees around here seem to get major infestations about every 5-7 years. Every single one I see I sqush. I just hope that my garden vegetable plants don't become infested. If so, the Bt would help some, but I would probably try Neem first, if it has control over them. I will wait and see

Bookmark   June 3, 2009 at 1:53AM
ediej1209(5 N Central OH)