Scraggly lavender.

Green_gnomeoJuly 22, 2013

Hello everyone,

I've got a problem with my Mini Blue lavender . I live up here in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Just planted it this summer, at the beginning of June. I gave it a little pruning before I planted it on the ground. I've read that pruning it would give you a bushier plant but up to now it's kinda scraggly looking with just a few branches. There's some new young shoots growing out of the woody branches but it seems very slow growing compared to my other Mini Blue. I also noticed that the old leaves are turning yellow and curling brown at the tips. Is it dying? Did I overwater it? I only water it once a day during hot days. We did get a huge down pour last Friday. I've attached some pictures so you can see what I mean.

I'd really appreciate it if someone could help.

Thank you,
Edmond.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
balloonflower(5b Denver CO, HZ 5-6, Sunset 2b)

I am not a great expert in growing lavender myself, but it does appear as if it's been overwatered. Once a day seems a lot for such an arid type plant. The browning from the leaf tips is the same my rosemary does when starting to rootrot.

Bookmark   July 22, 2013 at 3:35PM
florauk(8/9)

I don't actually see anything wrong with that plant considering it is relatively newly planted. Old foliage dies - it's natural,especially after transplanting. There is lots of new growth coming and far from being scraggly I would say it is quite dense and healthy-looking. It wasn't necessary to prune it at planting time but it has done it no harm. Mini Blue is a compact cultivar and will never get very tall. I don't think you or it need any help. Just be patient and let it grow at its own pace bearing in mind it is a woody shrub, not a fast growing annual.

Bookmark   July 22, 2013 at 4:57PM
Green_gnomeo