Older clumps, better blooms?

mitanoff(Z4b Ontario)August 24, 2009

After perusing this forum, I am getting the impression that a newly planted daylily may perform better as it gets older. Is this true?

This is my first year planting daylilies, and although I got blooms on most, the flowers have been sporadic and few. Is it possible that once it gets more established, that they will perform better?

For example: My 'First Knight' (planted just after frost) produced 3 flowers and that's it. Is this typical of this particular variety or can I look forward to a better show next year? I realize as it gets bigger (year after year), it will have more flowers, but that's not what I mean. Maybe I'm not explaining myself well. Arrgh.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
uroboros5(Z5 Quebec)

They do better over time, up to a point. If a mature clumps stops blooming, you can divide it, give it compost, and it will do better again.

Bookmark   August 24, 2009 at 9:42AM
Edward_Kimball

A daylily will do best once it has matured to a full clump. This can take 3 to 5 years. I am sure First Knight will do much better next year.

Bookmark   August 24, 2009 at 9:44AM
timberohio(6)

Just because a daylily may be registered as 5 way branching with a 30 bud count down south don't expect to get that in your zone.

If you newly planted this spring give it a few years to adjust to your area. Then if it doesn't perform the way you want, try looking at where it is planted. You may try a different spot in your yard or move it out of your yard completely.

Order from Northern Hybridizers and gardens for plants that do well in you zone.

Hope this helps. Just a few tidbits I've learned from everyone on here.

Andrea

Bookmark   August 24, 2009 at 9:51AM
greyhorse