Which is catnip and which one is a weed?

sandpapertongue(7a VA)July 12, 2007

This is my first time growing catnip, and from the same pot and same packet of seeds I have two different looking plants growing. I've tried looking online but both look like catnip to me. Can I have two different looking types of catnip growing, or have I been nurturing a weed?

BTW, both cats were unimpressed by both types of leaves. I'm hoping they'll like the dried version, since that's what they usually go crazy for.

Catnip 1:

Catnip 2:

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
granite(z6 NC)

can't help you...no pictures show up!

Bookmark   July 13, 2007 at 12:21AM
sandpapertongue(7a VA)

Catnip Suspect 1:

Catnip Suspect 2:

Bookmark   July 13, 2007 at 7:39AM
neil_allen(z5/6 Chi IL)

Suspect #1 is the catnip. Suspect #2 looks like lamb's quaters, a fairly common weed in the Midwest, but it could be something else I'm not familiar with.

Bookmark   July 13, 2007 at 7:51AM
mellikat

Picture 1 is catnip. Try to rip a piece of the leaf and see what the cat does. Ripping and bruising the leaf brings out the smell more.

Bookmark   July 13, 2007 at 8:33AM
sandpapertongue(7a VA)

Thank you! Off to rip out the weeds now. I can't believe I've been nurturing that all this time.

Bookmark   July 13, 2007 at 8:54AM
CA Kate

I agree with those above. But, if your cats are still unimpressed with the leaves it is likely that you've been sold some other form of Nepeta.

Bookmark   July 13, 2007 at 12:33PM
josie23(5)

#2 is Lambs Quarters as stated above. BUT....Lambs Quarters is edible. Throw it in your salad. It is a relative of spinach. I eat it in early spring before my lettuce/spinach is producing, then again in summer when the lettuce/spinach has bolted.

Bookmark   July 16, 2007 at 10:47AM
cougar67