When will my basil and cilantro start seeding?

GMOFREEGUYSeptember 19, 2013

Theyve both been growing flowers and this is my first year growing basil and cilantro so I dont really know what to expect. Any suggestions to get them to start going to seed?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
seysonn(8a WA/HZ 1)

Where are you located ?
Cilantro and basil are in two different categories: The first is cool crop, and the latter a heat loving one.

The best bet is to wait until the next season and cast seeds.
DO NOT count on RESEEDING ITSELF.

Cilantros are easy to grow from seed.
Basils, On the other hand, are harder to grow. They need real WARM soil and air temperature.

Bookmark   September 21, 2013 at 6:01PM
fatamorgana2121(Zone 5/6)

Cilantro reseeds for me very well. I haven't actually sown cilantro in a couple of years but have it in the garden every year. But for best results, seysonn is right. Purposely sow the seeds into prepared beds.

If you are talking about bolting (when these herbs start to flower), that is very condition and weather dependent. What region do you live in?

FataMorgana

Bookmark   September 22, 2013 at 8:06PM
GMOFREEGUY

Im in the northern california valley. I didnt really do enough homework on my herbs cause i just wanted to try growing a bunch of different herbs in a big planter but a lot of seeds never popped up. My basil and cilantro are the only things that got really big, and i have a little parsley plant growing in a corner of the planter

Bookmark   September 22, 2013 at 8:40PM
GMOFREEGUY

this was about a week ago so the bolting is a lot taller, and you cant really see the cilantro but its not so pretty

Bookmark   September 22, 2013 at 8:42PM
seysonn(8a WA/HZ 1)

That is a healthy and tasty looking basil pot.
I would eat them and would let just one of the branches go to seed.

BTW: flowering of basil is not considered BOLTING. With cilantro it is. Bolting means that it is done :

Bookmark   September 23, 2013 at 4:33AM