evergreen herbs zone 7

louisianagal(z7bMS)October 22, 2008

I am looking for a plant to put in the front of a border in spots where the bed curves out. Should be low growing. I want an evergreen that takes full sun, southern exposure, zone 7b, north Mississippi. I thought of herbs. Have 2 kinds of thyme, chives, and others elsewhere in this garden, and lavendar, chives, sage in other gardens.

I am thinking of using thyme again, but want other suggestions, if any. I am not an expert on herbs, by any means.

Thank you,

laurie

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
plantermunn

I am in zone 6 we have had a string of warm years.

I have had good lock with bronze fennel, lavander,sage, rue and a rosemary thet lived a few years.

Bookmark   October 24, 2008 at 2:51PM
fatamorgana2121(Zone 5/6)

Are you looking for culinary herbs, medicinal herbs, or either?

FataMorgana

Bookmark   October 25, 2008 at 8:54PM
louisianagal(z7bMS)

I would consider either.
Laurie

Bookmark   October 25, 2008 at 11:07PM
ltcollins1949(9a TX)

How about a rosemary plant? You can get an upright or a creeper a/k/a prostrate.

Arp Rosemary: Although rosemary is considered a tender perennial in most plant books, 'Arp' Rosmarinus officinalis has proven winter hardy as far north as Washington, D.C. The plant is a relatively slow grower; heights eventually reach 36" to 48" and widths of 18" to 24", and it likes well-drained soil in a sunny loction.

And best of all, rosemary is a great culinary herb that can be used in many recipes. It is one of my top five herb favorites.

Bookmark   October 26, 2008 at 11:55AM
fatamorgana2121(Zone 5/6)

I found these just flipping through a book on herbs - rosemary, thyme, sage, lavender, bay, hen & chicks, bayberry, eucalyptus, agave, artemisia, juniper, holly, citrus, cedar, tea (Camellia sinensis), boxwood, aloe, gardenia, oregon grape, patridge berry, bamboo (sort of evergreen), pine (various), etc.....