Any words of wisdom on starting comfrey from seed?

t-bird(Chicago 5/6)December 22, 2011

these are fairly pricy - 10 seeds for $4 - so not a lot of room for error....

says "sow in cool soils of early spring with germ in 30 days as soil warms. Or, give 30 days refridgeration in moist soil in a sealed plastic bag or glass jar and then sow in the garden or in pots"

Strange details!

anyone with success? Thinking this may be a candidate for "winter sowing" out of doors....will also trouble that community for advice, have never winter sown, it seems alien to me, lol! But this seed seems to call for it....

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
fatamorgana2121(Zone 5/6)

Do you desire a particular variety not available in plants or root cuttings? Because that is how I usually see comfrey for sale instead of seeds. If your seeds don't work out, check out Richters or Horizon Herbs for plants and roots for sale.

I've no experience in comfrey seed-starting. I've always gotten it in plants or root cuttings. I would guess most have similar experiences.

FataMorgana

Bookmark   December 22, 2011 at 2:12PM
t-bird(Chicago 5/6)

Thanks FataM - I'm just cheap I guess.....

In particular, the bocking 17 (14?) sometimes called russian is highly sought after as it is sterile (thus from roots/cuttings) and non aggressive, as the regular comfrey is.

I'm going with the regular "true comfrey" as getting that bocking #?? is so pricey, but I really want the comfrey for it's composting abilities, and as mulch, and hope to use it as aggressively as it tries to invade....

Also - will have on hand readily for topical application for injuries.....

Bookmark   December 23, 2011 at 7:29AM
flora_uk(SW UK 8/9)