canning pineapple bbq sauce

ikea_gwJuly 29, 2011

I have a recipe for pineapple bbq sauce that I'd like to can. It is basically the sauce on http://www.bbqu.net/season1/102.html but I use habanero instead. :-)

How should I go about canning these? I am new to canning so any advice will be welcome!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
readinglady(z8 OR)

I'm sorry, but that recipe is not designed for canning.

Secondarily, assuming you use canned pineapple juice (the usual choice), most of the BBQ sauce is just mixing together already bottled products - i.e. the juice, ketchup, vinegar, Worcestershire sauce, soy sauce. Why bother canning something so simple?

Carol

Here is a link that might be useful: Pineapple BBQ Sauce

Bookmark   July 30, 2011 at 1:43AM
digdirt2(6b-7a No.Cent. AR HZ8 Sun-35)

Carol is correct - as always. That is a fresh-use-only recipe and not a canning recipe. Like regular cooking recipes, most fresh-use recipes cannot be safely canned for shelf storage. They have never been tested for proper pH and density for canning. Recipes that are approved for canning will always include the instructions for doing it, processing times, jar size, etc.

If you feel you must make it ahead of time for storage you could freeze it although I think it would keep well in the fridge for several weeks.

Dave

Bookmark   July 30, 2011 at 10:00AM
ikea_gw

Carol, the link you posted is the same as the one I posted. Is that a mistake?

Bookmark   July 30, 2011 at 1:52PM

No she was just making it a clickable link so the rest of us could check it out too. Much easier than having to copy, open another window, and paste.

Dave

Bookmark   July 30, 2011 at 2:51PM
ikea_gw

Thanks Dave.

I wanted to can some bbq sauce because I don't always have time to make the sauce. I thought it would be nice to be able to have some ready for use at all times.

So what makes a recipe suitable/not suitable for canning?

Bookmark   August 1, 2011 at 6:06PM
Linda_Lou(SW Wa.)