Do I have to take the skin off tomatoes?

bucktalesAugust 27, 2008

This is my first year with a garden, and I have tomatoes coming out of my ears. I want to make some spaghetti sauce, and found several recipes online. Some here:

http://www.cooks.com/rec/search/0,1-0,canned_spaghetti_sauce,FF.html

and 1 on the pick-your-own website. My question is - do I really have to peel the tomatoes? I've got a million things going on at the moment and lots to do and don't necessarily feel like taking those extra steps - but I will if its absolutely necessary? Also, some recipes say to squeeze all the juice out of the tomates, and some don't.... what gives with that?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
digdirt2(6b-7a No.Cent. AR HZ8 Sun-35)

You'll regret it if you don't remove them, sorry. See previous discussions on this linked below.

Also, please be sure you are using a tested and safe canning recipe. Many on the net are NOT safe recipes for canning. Use the approved recipe in the Ball Blue Book or the one from NCHFP the National Center for Home Food Processing. There are also many recipes here that a search will pull up.

The recommendation for pre-squeezing is so you will have a thicker sauce. It gets rid of much of the water in the fruit up front and can save you lots of time in cooking down the sauce.

Dave

Here is a link that might be useful: Why remove tomato skins discussions...

Bookmark   August 27, 2008 at 9:09AM
karen_b(6a s.c. PA)